Race Report: Iowa Corn Indy 250

NEWTON, Iowa June 23, 2012—Despite starting the Iowa Corn Indy 250 over 40 minutes late due to rain showers, the race came to an early end for Mike Conway and the ABC Supply team.

From the start of the 250-lap race it was apparent that the No. 14 Dallara/Honda was not to Conway’s liking as he dropped from 15th to 25th within two laps. He continued to struggle with the car which he radioed in was “nervous in the rear.” Larry Foyt told him to hang on until the first pit stop when they could make some changes.

Conway pitted on lap 72 during a caution brought on by the Will Power’s contact with E.J. Viso.  By then Conway had lost three laps to the field. He did get one of those laps back as the cars a lap or more down were waved by the pace car which then picked up leader Helio Castroneves. During that pit stop, the crew changed tires and took out three turns of front wing.

Unfortunately, Conway was caught speeding in pit lane as he exited the pits and had to serve a drive-through penalty down pit lane once the race went green on lap 84. The wing change helped but not enough so he pitted again during a lap 98 caution period and the crew took out three more turns of front wing.

The second wing adjustment didn’t make that much of a difference as Conway was still getting passed despite being on new tires.  Foyt called him to the pits 25 laps later and then decided to call it a night. Conway was credited with 20th place.

Ryan Hunter-Reay won his second straight race and was followed across the line by his teammate Marco Andretti. Third through fifth were: Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon and Simon Pagenaud.

The race was slowed by six cautions, five of which were for cars making contact with the wall or each other. The first caution came out for pole winner Dario Franchitti when his car began smoking heavily before the race started; Franchitti pulled it down to the apron and was unable to compete.

The IZOD IndyCar Series will return to action in two weeks with the Honda Indy Toronto on Sunday, July 8th. The race will be televised live on ABC-TV starting at 12:30 p.m. ET.