Grand Prix Honors Racing Legend A.J. Foyt

The Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston presented by the Greater Houston Honda Dealers has named motorsports legend A.J. Foyt as the 2013 Grand Marshal of its ‘Three Day Festival of Speed’ and named the event’s top prize the “A.J. Foyt Trophy.”

Organizers of the Grand Prix chose the 78-year-old Houston native, whose name is synonymous with racing, to honor the inspiration he has given to drivers through racing and team management.

“A.J. Foyt is arguably the greatest race car driver of all time and without question is the greatest Texan to ever get behind the wheel,” said Austin B. Crossley, Managing Director of the Grand Prix. “A.J.’s career began right here in Houston and continues here today, so it is only natural that we honor him by naming our city’s top motorsports prize the A.J. Foyt Trophy.”

As Grand Marshal of his hometown race, taking place October 4-6, 2013, Foyt will participate in pre- and post-race ceremonies, by awarding the trophy bearing his name after each IndyCar race. The A.J. Foyt Trophy, shaped as a traditional Texas cowboy boot with Foyt’s signature on its heel, will be presented annually to the winner(s) of the IndyCar Series race(s) in Houston. Additionally, winners will receive authentic custom-made cowboy boots from Texas National Outfitters (TNO), personally fitted to them following their win. As the official boot makers of the event, TNO will also honor Foyt by presenting him with an identical pair of boots.

A.J. Foyt has compiled an impressive resume, bucking the modern trend of participating in just one style of racing to compete and win IndyCar, NASCAR, sports cars, sprint cars, and midget contests. His driving history at a glance includes:

- 14 total motorsports championships

- 67 IndyCar wins (record)

- Seven IndyCar titles

- Four Indianapolis 500 victories (first of only three drivers to do so)

- 53 pole positions

- 35 consecutive Indianapolis 500 starts (1958-1992)

- Seven NASCAR Grand National (Sprint Cup) wins including one Daytona 500 (1972)

- 24 Hours of Le Mans Victory (1967)

- 24 Hours of Daytona Victory(1983, 1985)

- 12 Hours of Sebring Victory (1985)

The Houston resident retired from driving Indy cars in 1993 but continues to stay involved as the owner of AJ Foyt Enterprises. His team fields the No. 14 ABC Supply Honda in the IZOD IndyCar Series and will be seeking its first win in its hometown.

Tickets to the Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston are available at all Ticketmaster outlets, online at, by phone at 1-800-745-3000, or in person at the Reliant Stadium South ticket windows inside Budweiser Plaza. For more information, please visit