IndyCar Announces 2013 Schedule and $1 Million Triple Crown

INDIANAPOLIS (Sept. 30, 2012) – Nineteen races over 16 event weekends highlight the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series schedule announced today.

The expanded schedule includes the return of Indy car racing to Pocono Raceway and the streets of Houston.

With a 400-mile race at Pocono Raceway joining the 500-mile events at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Auto Club Speedway on the schedule, the IZOD IndyCar Series will institute a Triple Crown award, which will pay a $1 million bonus to a driver that wins on all three ovals.  A driver that wins two of the three races will be awarded a $250,000 bonus.

Also new for 2013 are Saturday-Sunday doubleheaders scheduled for the street courses at Detroit’s Belle Isle Park, Toronto and Houston and the implementation of standing starts at those three venues.

Fourteen of the 15 venues that hosted IZOD IndyCar Series races in 2012 return. Six races – Indianapolis, the doubleheader at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park, the prime-time event at Texas Motor Speedway as well as Iowa and Pocono – will be broadcast on ABC.  The balance of the schedule, including the season opener at St. Petersburg and the finale at Auto Club Speedway, will be carried on NBC Sports Network.  Race distances and broadcast times will be announced at a later date.


Date Track

March 24 Streets of St. Petersburg

April 7 Barber Motorsports Park

April 21 Streets of Long Beach

May 5 Streets of Sao Paulo, Brazil

May 26 Indianapolis Motor Speedway

June 1 Belle Isle Park, Detroit

June 2 Belle Isle Park, Detroit

June 8 Texas Motor Speedway*

June 15 The Milwaukee Mile

June 23 Iowa Speedway

July 7 Pocono International Raceway

July 13 Streets of Toronto

July 14 Streets of Toronto

Aug. 4 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Aug. 25 Raceway at Sonoma

Sept. 1 Streets of Baltimore

Oct. 5 Houston Reliant Park

Oct. 6 Houston Reliant Park

Oct. 19 Auto Club Speedway*